All the Bright Places

51bBbJPlfNL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. I honestly don’t know where to start with this book. It caused me so much emotion. So, I first decided to read this book, because everyone was saying how good it was and all the stuff. So I decided to give it a try. In the beginning, I think I had myself too hyped up about this book, and I didn’t really get into it until 200 pages in. After about 200-250 pages I was really getting into it. As I was reading the book, and not getting super into it, I thought I would probably end up giving it 4 out of 5 stars. Then, when I thought the book was pretty much over and the ending would be a nice close, the book surprised me. My breath was taken away, and this book had my heart in the palm of it’s hand. (I’m trying really hard not to spoil anything. lol) I was practically in tears by the time I finished. So now as I’m sitting here writing this review, I realized that this book was worth the read, and it was one of the most beautifully written books I’ve ever read. I’ve often heard books described as “beautifully written”, but for the longest time I wondered how a book’s words could be beautiful. I didn’t think words could be beautiful. But after reading this book I finally understood what everyone was talking about. All the thought that was put into this book just astounded me. This book was beautiful.

Too much happened in this book, and I feel like I would spoil stuff if I wrote my own summary, so here’s what the inside cover of the book says:

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death. Every day he thinks of ways he might die, but every day he also searches for–and manages to find–something to keep him here, and alive, and awake.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her small Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school–six stories above ground–it’s unclear who saves whom. And when the unlikely pair teams up on a class project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, they go, as Finch says, where the road takes them: the grand, the small, the bizarre, the beautiful, they ugly, the surprising–just like life.

Soon it’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself–a bold, funny, live-out-loud guy, who’s not such a geek after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet forgets to count away the days and starts living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is a heart-wrenching, unflinching story of love shared, life lived, and two teens who find one another while standing on the edge.

So, after all of this has been said. I decided to give this book:

4.5 out of 5 stars 🙂

Leave a Reply

