Me, and Earl, and the Dying Girl

Me_and_Earl_and_the_Dying_Girl

Me, and Earl, and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews. I don’t really know where to start with this book. I mainly decided to read it because the movie came out, and I always like to read the book before I see the movie, but now after reading the book, I’m not so sure I wanna see the movie…This was a strange and messed up book. I don’t like to be mean, but I’m surprised this book even got published, let alone got made into a film.

It was basically about this kid named Greg who was forced into being friend with Rachel, and girl dying from cancer.

That’s it, I didn’t really see the point of this book. I didn’t learn any good messages or lessons from it either. And the ending sucked. I’m sorry. That was a harsh review, but I just didn’t connect with this book. There were definitely some funny parts, but that’s it. It was like another version of Will Grayson, Will Grayson. To sum it up in two words: weird and pointless.

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 thoughts on “Me, and Earl, and the Dying Girl

  1. thegrishalieutenant says:

    My feelings on this book were really similar. I really hated the main character and at the end I just felt really bad for everyone but Greg. Earl was the only thing I liked about the book. He was the realest character.

    Like

  2. thegrishalieutenant says:

    I felt the same way! Except I really wished that the book was from Earl’s point of view. Earl was the only character that I really connected with on at least a partial level. He seemed more grounded and real than all of the others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

