Age of Darkness

41zDJMoEWLL._SX377_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Age of Darkness by Brandon Chen. Before I give my opinion on this book, here’s a brief summary:

Keimaro Hayashi is a young boy who’s been mistreated his whole life just because of his ancestry. When his village is attacked, and his parents are killed and his sister is kidnapped, Keimaro and his only friend seek revenge on the Bounts, the organization that took everything from Keimaro. Keimaro grows up and trains, along with some special powers he aquired, all so that he can finally get his revenge.

If I’m gonna be completely the honest, this book wasn’t as good as I had hoped. It was very promising from the start. The beginning was great, and I loved all the characters. Then, the main character, Keimaro, became dark and bitter, filled with revenge and anger. I started to not like him, and I usually have a hard time liking the book if I don’t like the main character. Now you may think I didn’t like the main character for the simple reason that he’s a guy, but that’s not true, cause my top two favorite books, Percy Jackson and Harry Potter, are both told from a guy’s point-of-view. I even had the same problem with Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, where Harry became angry. When Harry became angry, I didn’t like him as much, and that’s why the Order of the Phoenix is my least favorite out of all 7 Harry Potter books. The reason I didn’t really like Keimaro was because he went from being hero, like in the beginning of the book, to being more of a villain. I understand that he was bitter and hurt from the death of his parents, and that’s why he wanted his revenge, and I was okay with that, but I thought he was supposed to be a hero. I’m not 100% sure if that was the author’s intention or not, but I definitely wasn’t getting a hero vibe from this guy by the end of the book. Heroes don’t kill people for no reason.

The plot itself was a really good idea, but it moved way to slow. Like I said, it started out good, and fast-paced, but as this book went on, it got very slow and boring. It was beginning to become a very unenjoyable book. It took me a really long time to read this book, much longer than normal, and that’s just to support the fact that I thought the plot of this story moved to slow.

On the other hand, the little bit of romance in this book was good. There wasn’t much, but what was in there, was all good. I liked it a lot, actually.

So that’s my overall thought of this book. I personally wasn’t a huge fan, but angry, bitter, violent men who seek revenge isn’t really up my alley, but, if you do like that kind of thing, feel free to give this book a try. 🙂

2 1/2 out of 5 stars

 

Leave a Reply

