The Yoga of Max’s Discontent

  
The Yoga of Max’s Discontent by Karan Bajaj. So I was sent this book for an honest review in return. Before I get into major detail, let me just say that this book was a lot better than I expected. I wasn’t really sure what to expect anyway though, cause this book is very different than the books I usually read. 

Here’s a summary for you guys: “Max Pzoras is the poster child for the American Dream. The child of Greek immigrants who grew up in a dangerous New York housing project, he triumphed over his upbringing and became a successful Wall Street analyst. Yet on the frigid December night he’s involved in a violent street scuffle, Max begins to confront questions about suffering and mortality that have dogged him since his mother’s death.

His search takes him to the farthest reaches of India, where he encounters a mysterious night market, almost freezes to death on a hike up the Himalayas, and finds himself in an ashram in a drought-stricken village in South India. As Max seeks answers to questions that have bedeviled him—can yogis walk on water and live for 200 years without aging? Can a flesh-and-blood man ever achieve nirvana?—he struggles to overcome his skepticism and the pull of family tugging him home. In an ultimate bid for answers, he embarks on a dangerous solitary meditation in a freezing Himalayan cave, where his physical and spiritual endurance is put to its most extreme test.”

My opinion: so first of all, it was very ironic that I was asked to read this because I’m learning about different world religions right now in school, and I’m on a chapter about New Spirituality. And this book talked a lot about rituals and stuff that that a New Spiritualist would do. So that made a lot of the things easier to understand. I will say though that some parts of this got a little confusing and required a lot of focus. This book also talked about a lot of things that I really am not fully interested in, mainly just because I’m a teenage girl. However, I knew going into this book that it may not exactly be my “cup of tea”, but like I said before this book was a lot better and more interesting than I originally thought it was going to be. I liked a lot of the characters, and it had a very good ending. 

4 out of 5 stars. 

Leave a Reply

