Hungry

18525734.jpg

Hungry by H.A. Swain. This book overall was good, but there were some things I didn’t like, and I will get to those. But first, a summary:

This book is about a girl named Thalia who is hungry in a world where there is no food, and people drink a special substance to keep them from being hungry. For some reason, this special drink isn’t working on Thalia, and she needs to figure out what is wrong with her. She stumbles across a boy, named Basil, who is having the same problem. The two of them make a plan to join the rebellion against the government and they try to find food.

So, one of my friends recommended this to me, and so I decided to give it a try. I thought the whole idea was really cool. We are running out of dystopian novels these days, and I thought this book was an idea that hasn’t yet been introduced. This is the first time I’ve ever read a book like this. So I was excited to read this book, knowing it wasn’t going to be like anything else I had ever read. Well, it started out really good and I loved all the characters, but this book was too long. I don’t mean length wise, I mean there was too much extra stuff in the end. The book needed to end 100 pages before it did. This book was only like 370 pages long, but the last 100 pages was like a whole other story. It was almost like the author took the idea of a book that could’ve made a very good trilogy, and they turned it into one book, crammed with too much information. I definitely think if the author had made this a trilogy that it would’ve turned out much better in the end.

4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

