The Kiss of Deception

16429619.jpg

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson.

Summary from Goodreads: A princess must find her place in a reborn world.
She flees on her wedding day.
She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.
She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.
She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.
The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.
Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

My Opinion: So this book was slow to start, but definitely sped up and got really good towards the middle and through the end. I loved all the characters in this book, and I loved the way the author kept some of the characters’ identities a secret. So I heard that this book had a major plot twist in it, but if I’m being honest, I didn’t know what it was. (If you know what the major plot twist is, please tell me, but I warn anyone who goes looking in the comments that there may be spoilers then) Anyway, I loved the romance in this book, but I was disappointed by the ending. There were things that I wanted to happen that didn’t. I wanted the book to end in a satisfying way, but it didn’t and I don’t really feel like reading the sequel, so I don’t know if I’ll ever get those scenes and answers that I really wanted in the first book. I do recommend this book, but if you read it you have to be patient. This book had a slow start, and it was kinda slow 3/4 of the way through, so if you’re a reader who can’t stand a slow plot, then I don’t necessarily recommend this story.

4 out of 5 stars

7 thoughts on “The Kiss of Deception

  1. thegrishalieutenant says:

    I read this book and felt really underwhelmed as well. I think the plot twist was suppose to be the reveal of which character was the assassin and which was the prince. I thought it was pretty easy to tell really early on. I did read the sequel and felt that it was more of a “bridge” book. (Written for the purpose of getting to the next book) I’m not even sure that I’m going to read the final book. I don’t feel like the love triangle was needed in the story. It just made it worse.

    Like

      • thegrishalieutenant says:

        I thought the second was about the same as the first. Underwhelming, but entertaining. I only read it so that I could see what would happy in the story. I was entertained, but not at all surprised by the progression of the story. It was all very predictable and I found the main character even more irritating than in the first book.

        Like

      • Book Nerd says:

        Ugh, then I may not read it. I’ll have to see. I have so many other books on my TBR list right now, I don’t really want to add a book that I probably won’t end up liking that much. Lol. You probably know how that is. #booknerdproblems #somanybookssolittletime

        Liked by 1 person

      • thegrishalieutenant says:

        I know EXACTLY what that’s like. But I always feel this sense of loyalty. That I have to finish what I’ve started or else I’m “giving up”. Even though there are so many other books out there that I’d enjoy so much more. #neverenoughtime #cantquitmedicoreseries

        Like

Leave a Reply

