Me Before You

15507958.jpg

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I have very mixed feelings about this book, but before I tell you here’s a summary from Goodreads so I don’t spoil anything with my own summary:

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

SPOILERS BELOW! DONT READ MY OPINION BECAUSE YOU WILL BE SPOILED.

Opinons: Sorry, I just don’t know how to express my feelings on this book without spoiling the book. So I thought this book was so good…until the last 100 pages. I was so sure that Louisa and Will were gonna fall in love and have a tragic love story that would make me cry but make me feel happy at the same time. That’s not what happened at all. Lou was trying really hard to show Will that there are things to live for, even though he’s paralyzed. She tried so hard for such a long time to try and convince Will not to take his own life. So, I thought they’d fall in love and that would show will that he could live for Louisa. But Lou and Will didn’t really start to fall in love till the end, and (this is the worst part of the whole book) when Lou confesses her love for Will, he tells her that that’s not enough, and that’s he’s still continue with his plans to take his own life. At this point I was so mad at Will. Like I’ve never ever been so furious with a book before, but with Will and the way Jojo Moyes wrote this book it just made me so mad. I don’t even know how to express my anger. I literally wanted to burn the book. I MEAN WHO WRITES A BOOK LIKE THAT?! I stuck with the book the whole way, I was holding out, waiting, hoping for Lou and Will to finally confess there love. I so badly wanted a beautiful, but tragic love story. And I don’t mind sad endings! I saw it coming cause that’s usually how these books end, but usually when a book has a tragic ending the author writes a happy middle section to keep the reader happy for at least part of the book. Not Jojo Moyes. This was a depressing story, with a heart-breaking ending. There were just no happy parts. I was devastated. I didn’t get to read about Will and Lou falling in love BECAUSE IT DIDN’T HAPPEN AND THATS WHAT MAKES ME SO FURIOUS! Will was just so darn stubborn, and he wanted to miserable. He liked it. Ugh. Im mad. If you couldn’t tell. lol. The funny thing though was that I was in class when I finished the book, and I was so angry and sad I just started bawling, big ugly tears. and EVERYONE gave me such funny looks and they kept asking me if i was okay. (which of course I wasn’t okay). Ugh this book. I also struggled, because I didn’t know what to rate this book. Cause I liked the beginning, but then it made me so mad, so I decided on:

3 out of 5 stars

I don’t recommend this book unless you want to read a depressing, sad, heart-breaking story with the happiness ripped out of it.

 

Leave a Reply

