A Court of Mist and Fury

17927395.jpg

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. I’ve got quite a lot to say about this book, and there will be spoiler sections of this review, but I will make sure to tell you where to stop reading if you don’t want to be spoiled. (Side note of warning: This book is much more mature than the first. There is a lot more content that probably isn’t suitable for anyone under the age of 15 or 16.)

Summary (non-spoiler): Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.
Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

Opinions: So first I want to say that this was a fantastic sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses. Usually the sequels aren’t as good, but oh boy, this sequel was so much better. Before I talk about everything I loved about this book, let me first mention the only two things I didn’t like: 1. Some parts were very confusing. The world this book takes place in is very complicated, and at times, that made it difficult to understand what exactly was happening. 2. This book read slowly for me. I was expecting to finish this book in like 3 days at the most, but it ended up taking me almost a week. It’s not that the story itself was slow paced, it was just that it read slowly. I don’t really know why though, so it could’ve just been me.

NOW I WILL BE MOVING ON TO THE SPOILER SECTION OF THIS REVIEW. DO NOT CONTINUE READING UNLESS YOU’VE READ ACOMAF OR YOU JUST DON’T MIND BEING SPOILED.

So, moving on to everything I loved about this story: Rhysand. Rhysand. Rhysand. Wow, he was such an incredible character that just kinda came out of nowhere, and I loved him. But before I get into Rhys, I want to talk about Feyre and her relationship with Tamlin. While reading A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR), the first book, I was a hardcore Feyre and Tamlin shipper. I loved them together, and I was excited because I just thought that their relationship would grow. Apparently, Sarah J. Maas had some other ideas. In this book, Tamlin was just way too controlling over Feyre. He basically treats Feyre like a delicate pet who can’t take care of herself. He’s too worried about protecting her, that he doesn’t realize she’s not happy. He needed to pay more attention to what she wanted. The last straw was when Feyre wanted to help Tamlin, and he just locked her in the Spring Court and wouldn’t let her help. That is why I grew to love Rhysand. At first, I was so mad at Rhys for ripping Feyre and Tamlin apart, but then I ended up being glad. Rhys wasn’t trying to keep Feyre prisoner. He wanted to make sure she was being the best she could be, and living up to her potential. Rhys helped her embrace all her gifts and powers. Tamlin just wanted to keep it all hidden for her “safety.” I was soooo happy with the way this story went. I loved reading about and watching as Rhys and Feyre developed as characters, and their relationship with one another. I loved the way they flirted. I even went into this part of the book trying to hate Rhys for Tamlin’s sake, but it didn’t work. I ended loving Rhys anyway. As the story progressed I just found myself wanting Rhys and Feyre together more and more. AND OMG the part where we learn they are mates. WOW. That made me so happy. Like ahhhhhhhh. They were meant to be!! Going back to Tamlin now, I was a little sad because while I was still reading I wanted more Tamlin. I wanted a scene where Feyre tells Tamlin personally that she’s no longer gonna be his. And as the story was coming to an end, I was disappointed because I didn’t think I was gonna get that scene. But then I did. And it was sooooooo much better than I ever imagined it could be. The ending was just so epic I couldn’t even comprehend it at first. I loved, loved, loved that Feyre’s sisters became Fae. And that Elain ended up being Lucien’s mate! AHHHHHH, I love Elain and Lucien so  much, like they’re two of my favorite characters. So that’s something I’m really looking forward to in the next book. Where is Sarah J. Maas going to go with all these characters? AND OMG the act Feyre put on. She is perfection. She pretended that Rhys had messed wither her mind, just to convince Tamlin she still loved him. Ugh, that made me mad, because Tamlin couldn’t just accept the fact that Feyre wasn’t his anymore, and because of that he caused so many problems. So Feyre asked the king to “break” the bond between her and Rhys. The king broke the bond that made Feyre spend one week out of every month with Rhys, but what he didn’t break was the bond Rhys and Feyre had made when they officially became mates. AHHHHH again. They’re officially meant to be, and nothing will tear them apart! woohooo! I don’t even have words for how happy that makes me. And then, oh man, to end the book on a fantastic note, Fyre goes back to the Spring Court with Tamlin. He thinks she loves him, but really she’s just gonna be a spy for Rhys. And Lucien knows! But he won’t do anything cause he wants to be back with Elain, his mate! For the last 200 pages, I just could not put this book down. Sarah J. Maas blew me away with this book. She is a mortal who deserves to be a goddess with immortality so she can write me books forever. Hahaha.

5 out 5 stars (Duh!)

 

Leave a Reply

