City of Ashes

city-of-ashes-9781481455978_hr.jpg

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare is the second book in the Mortal Instruments series. This book was amazing. Such a fantastic sequel! Don’t read this review if you haven’t read book one.

Goodreads Summary: Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

Opinion: Like I said before, this was a fantastic sequel. There was so much action, that it just kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time I was reading it. I don’t have much more to say for my non-spoilery part, so let me talk about my thoughts on everything that happened in the story.

DON’T READ PAST THIS POINT IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THIS BOOK YET

So first, I wanna talk about everything that happened with Simon. The poor kid went to hell and back in this book (and I kinda mean that literally). I was very sad when he got turned into a vampire. I didn’t want Simon to get so involved in the Shadowhunter world, but it seems like he’s definitely a part of it now. Then when I was so sure that Simon had been killed by Valentine, I cried. I was so sad because I knew how much it would hurt Clary, and I just wanted her to be happy. Now that being said, I was glad that Simon and Clary broke up and just went back to being friends. I honestly didn’t like them dating, and I have other thoughts on where I want Clary to put her heart. lol. I really want Jace and Clary to be together. Now, before I go any further, know that I don’t want them to be together if they are brother and sister. I think that is weird. I was so sad in the first book when we found out they were related because I ship them so hard. So now I’m just hoping that some sort of plot twist happens and we find out they’re not actually related, or IDK, but something like that. Cause I really want them together, just not as brother and sister. Does that make sense? Ugh, this book just seriously messed with my emotions. I’m very excited to read City of Glass next.

I decided I might as well also talk about my thoughts on the TV show that was made off this series. I’m sorry but I’m not a huge fan. I just don’t think the acting is very good at all, and it’s not following the book as closely as I hoped it would. I’m not a huge fan of any of the actors or actresses either, they’re just not how I pictured them while reading, and it’s messing with my mind. Lol, idk, I’m still gonna continue with the tv series to see if it gets better, but as of right now I’m not so sure. I also haven’t seen the movie, but I do wanna see that to see how it compares to the TV show.

5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

