City of Glass

city-of-glass-9781481455985_hr.jpg

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare is the third book in the Mortal Instruments series. This was definitely the best book in the series so far. It was just incredible. This will be a spoiler review, because I mean it’s the third book in the series, and it’s hard to say anything without spoiling something, so if you’ve read through book 2, you can keep reading for the book synopsis and my general review, and then I’ll let you know when I get into the spoiler part for only people who have read this book. If you haven’t read any of the books in this series, you probably should be reading the first two books, not reading this review. Lol.

Summary from Goodreads:

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters – never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.
As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City – whatever the cost?

My opinion: So a general view of my opinion: I thought this book was so amazing, like wow. I was blown away. I cried so many times throughout this book you have no idea (unless you’ve read this, then you probably know what I’m talking about lol). The characters, the world building, and all the stuff that went down in this was enough to give me a heart attack. Lol. If you’ve read the first two books in this series, what’s stopping you from reading this one? It’s definitely the best book so far, in my opinion.

So now to the spoiler part where I talk about everything that happened. If you haven’t read this book, leave, go read it, then come back. If you have read this book, keep reading and let me know in the comments if you agree with my thoughts and opinions.

Ok. So wow. So much happened in this book. Pretty sure I had a heart attack at least 10 times throughout this book, and I just need to talk about everything that happened. First, let me tell just tell you how mad I was that Jace purposely left Clary behind at the Institute because he didn’t want her to come to Idris. He straight up lied to her, and it made me so angry. The beginning of this book was a little slow, but it picked up quickly. Clary creates her own portal and goes to Alicante herself. Now this is where my heart shattered, not once but twice. Clary finds Jace and he is kissing Aline. Like what the heck. No. Not ok. I do not trust Aline at all, but thank the lord she left Jace and Clary alone to talk, but then what does Jace do? He yells at Clary. And not in like a brother and sister kind of way, but he just tears her apart. And I was angry beyond words. I could not believe it. My heart shattered for Clary. Like I couldn’t even imagine going through all that, but of course that was just the beginning. This is a Cassandra Clare book after all, and she is the queen of plot twists. Then Clary finds out Simon, her best friend, has been locked up. Poor Simon. He’s got such a hard life, and it wasn’t even his idea, he was just an innocent bystander. Then Clary meets Sebastian, and right from the start I knew something was up, and I did not trust him. Of course Sebastian kisses Clary which was not ok. But the thing that made me most mad was that Sebastian killed Max. That part made me so sad. I mean honestly I wasn’t super attached to Max cause he was kind of just a side character, but he was so young, and it just broke my heart. Then we find out that Samuel, Simon’s “friend” that he made in prison, is actually Hodge. And it blew. my. mind. I didn’t see it coming. At all. But of course right before Hodge tells Jace something important about himself, Sebastian has to be a jerk and kill him. Everything with Sebastian seems kind of confusing at first, but then Clary’s mom comes back. (can I just say I was super mad at Clary for the way she treated her mom. I mean I understand why she was so mad with her mom, but at least give your mom, who’s been unconscious for a really long time, a hug before you chew her out for all her mistakes.) Of course Clary’s mom clears up everything, and it made me unbelievably happy. BECAUSE NOW WE KNOW THAT JACE AND CLARY AREN’T FREAKING BROTHER AND SISTER AND NOW THEY CAN BE TOGETHER AND IT WON’T BE WEIRD! That made me so happy, I could not stop smiling. But then it turns out Sebastian is the real Jonathan Morganstern, so even though Jace wasn’t related to Clary, she still managed to kiss her brother. lol, I actually thought that was really funny. Unfortunately though, before we find out the truth about Jace, he goes of to defeat Sebastian and Valentine himself. Not your brightest idea Jace. What were you thinking? It’s super scary cause Jace almost dies, and he probably would’ve if it wasn’t for Isabelle. I love Isabelle, don’t get me wrong, but I really hated her whenever she told Clary that she wished she’d never met her and all that crap. Like what Isabelle? What in the world? Fortunately Jace manages to kill Sebastian. yeah. There was so much sadness in this book, and I cried many times throughout the whole story, but none of the sadness or tears compared to the agony I felt when Jace died. I cried uncontrollably. The tears just kept coming. And the worst part was is that he actually died, it wasn’t like he was pretending. It ended up being ok though,because the angel, I think his name was Raziel, Valentine had hoped would help him ended up killing him, and instead Raziel helped Clary bring Jace back instead. That made me so happy. I’m quite surprised Valentine died though, I kind of have a sneaky suspicion that he didn’t though. idk. No spoilers in the comments please! Then the ending. OMG. At this point I was crying happy tears. The things Jace told Clary about how much he loved her. I couldn’t stop smiling. It was so amazing and it made me so happy. And I’m soooooooo happy Jocelyn and Luke finally got together, I know that wasn’t a main part of the plot, but I really wanted them together. Lol. Overall this book was just one gigantic rollercoaster of emotions and heart ache, but it was incredible beyond words.

5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

