Unravel Me

13104080.jpg

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi is the second book in the Shatter Me trilogy.

Summary from Goodreads: Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.
She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.
Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

My opinion: So here’s my spoiler free opinion first, and then I’ll get into all my thoughts on the plot. First I wanna say that this book caused me a lot of conflict. I had such a hard time deciding for myself how I wanted the story to go. I also want to just say that I did not like Juliette in this book. She was being selfish, annoying, and just an overall frustrating character. If you read the first book, you might as well read this one too. Lol. It was good, and I liked it, it just wasn’t as good as book one.

Ok, now for all my thoughts on what happened in this book, so if you haven’t read this yet, go read it, come back, and we can discuss everything that happened. And a lot happened.

So I want to start out by talking about Juliette’s relationship with Adam. I was really mad and sad about their whole relationship throughout this book. I was mad that they were keeping things form each other, like Adam wouldn’t tell Juliette about his ability, which was kind of a big deal. The fact that we now know Adam is weakened when he’s with Juliette created so many problems for me. I really wanted Juliette and Adam to work, but now I don’t really know how I feel about it anymore. I mean, if I were Juliette and I found out that I was actually weakening the man I loved by being with him, and that at any moment I could accidentally kill him, I don’t know about you, but I’d probably stay away, because I wouldn’t want to hurt him. At the same time though, I feel so bad for Adam because it kills him to not be able to be with Juliette, and I admire him for trying so hard to make the relationship work, but if he continues to try so hard, the relationship is going to seem too forced. So that whole thing caused me to kind of look for other opportunities for Juliette. That’s where Warner comes into play. I absolutely despised Warner in the first book, so I went into this book feeling the same way. I actually really like the fact that we find out Warner actually gets stronger when he’s with Juliette. I think that created a cool side to the story. I love books where it’s not obvious who the main character is going to end up with. A lot of the time you read a book and the author steers the reader toward a specific person so that it’s obvious who they’re gonna end up with. This series is different though, because at this point I have no idea who Juliette’s gonna end up with. When I was reading this, I hated that Juliette was giving Warner a chance, but looking back on the story now, I kind of think he might deserve it. I mean it’s his fathers fault that he turned out to be the way he is. I loved that we can see his character development in this story with scenes like the dog scene, where Warner helped the stray dog. It shows us that he’s not a complete monster. I was really mad though during that scene where Warner and Juliette got all intimate, because I fell like Juliette was just being so cruel to Adam by doing that, but also so cruel to Warner for falsely leading him on. As you can see, Juliette just made me really angry. Then we also find out that Adam and Warner are related, and can I just say that I was so proud of myself cause for the first time ever I predicted the plot twist before it happened. Anderson was a real jerk though. He freaking shot Juliette in the chest right in front of Warner. I was really scared there for a sec, cause I actually thought she might die. Then we end this book with Juliette and Warner in the same place, and we have no idea what happened with Adam and Kenji. Oh, and can I just say that I love Kenji. He’s honestly my favorite character at this point. And I loved that speech he gave Juliette at the beginning of the book where he yelled at her to stop being so selfish. She really needed that slap in the face.

So, overall I left this book feeling very frustrated with Juliette and I’m still not sure who I want her with: Adam or Warner. I just need to finish the trilogy to form my whole opinion.

4 out of 5 stars

 

Leave a Reply

