Ignite Me

13188676.jpgIgnite Me by Tahereh Mafi is the third and final book in the Shatter Me trilogy. Overall, this was a good conclusion to the series. It was probably my favorite book out of the three.

Summary on Goodreads: With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

My Opinion: So for my non-spoiler-y opinion I just want to say that so much happens in this book, it’s gonna be hard for me to say a lot with out spoiling. I do want to say that Juliette was a lot less annoying in this book, which was good, and that I loved where the story went. It was fun to read, and I really enjoyed it. I definitely recommend reading this series.

So now for my spoiler-y section. If you haven’t read the book leave now. If you have, let’s discuss it.

So first I wanna talk about Juliette and Warner’s relationship. I was frustrated in the beginning because Juliette was being annoying again (no surprise there), and she wouldn’t confess how she felt about Warner, unit everything with Adam went down. But after Juliette finally stopped denying how she felt about Warner, their relationship was super cute.

If you’re still an Adam and Juliette shipper after reading this book, I’d just like to ask, “Why?” Adam was so mean in this book, and it broke my heart. I’m definitely a Juliette and Warner person, and I don’t think I’ve ever switched views so drastically before in any book I’ve read. I was just kind of sad that things between Juliette and Adam didn’t end better. I wish they could’ve parted as friends. But of course Adam just had to have all those melodramatic meltdowns. He was just so mean to Juliette and it made me so mad.

One thing that blew me away in this book was Juliette’s character development. I mean wow, she changed so much from the beginning of this series to now. She’s no longer that annoying character who was scared of her own shadow. She’s now learned how to take control of her own life and body. Which brings me to mention that I loved that she can now touch people. I think that is great way to show that Juliette has finally accepted who she is, and that was just beautiful.

I also applaud Tahereh Mafi for the other ways she showed Juliette’s character development. Like you can see it on all three covers of the books. The first one is like an eye that is crying and drowning in it’s own tears, just like Juliette was destroying herself because she feared her own body. The second book is an eye that’s like frozen, because in Unravel Me, Juliette is stuck. She doesn’t know where to go, or doesn’t know what to think. And then on the third book cover we see an eye that’s like blossoming with flowers, because that’s what Juliette did in this book. She blossomed. She finally grew up and accepted herself for who she was. So I thought that representation was beautiful, not to mention the fact that the Shatter Me trilogy book covers are breathtakingly beautiful. Another cool thing I noticed is that in the first book Juliette crosses out her words. A lot. Because not only is she scared of herself, but she’s also just scared to say how she feels. Then in the second book we see those lines go away some, but they’re still there. But in the third book there were no words crossed out, cause Juliette finally stopped being afraid of saying what she felt. I think those representations are what make Tahereh Mafi such a fantastic writer. I mean she is probably one of my favorite authors just because her writing style is so beautiful.

Going back to the plot of this book now. Lol, I got sidetracked. I loved that when Warner found out that Adam and James were his brothers that he wasn’t mad, but instead he wanted to get to know them. That really touched my heart and made me happy. James and Warner were so cute together, and I loved that.

That also brings me to talk about Kenji and Juliette’s relationship. It was like my favorite thing ever. Kenji is definitely my favorite character, and I just loved the way the two talked to each other. You could definitely see that they were best friends. And a thing that surprised me about this book was that I laughed a lot. I didn’t think I would be laughing in such a serious trilogy like this one, but the laughs were a nice comic relief that lightened the mood. Just more proof that Tahereh Mafi is an amazing writer.

The one thing I didn’t like about this book was that I finished it and I still have a lot of questions. Like did Anderson have an ability? Will Kenji and Adam find love? Where will everyone live? Will Warner and Juliette rule together? What new government system will they set up? What do Warner, Adam, and James do together to get to know each other? I just really wanted to know a lot of things like that. I wish there could’ve been an epilogue book, haha, I just had so many unanswered questions.

Overall, I enjoyed this trilogy, even though it was a bit frustrating at times.

4 3/4 out of 5 stars

 

2 thoughts on “Ignite Me

Leave a Reply

