Clockwork Angel

Clockwork_Angel_1.jpg

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare. This is the first book in the prequel trilogy to the Mortal Instruments. I’d like to start by saying that this book was incredible.

Here’s a summary from Goodreads: The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

My Opinon: So before I go into the part where I discuss the plot let me just tell you my non-spoilery opinion. First, I absolutely love Tessa, the main character. She’s not annoying at all, and I really appreciated that. I also loved that there’s now a whole new Shadowhunter world with a bunch of new characters.  I really loved the setting of this story though. Honestly, I just love London. Haha.  I also liked that the environment felt different form the Mortal Instruments. Reading this series felt like I was in the 1800’s and reading TMI series felt like I was in the 21st century. So overall, I really enjoyed this book. I”m extremely excited to see where this trilogy goes.

Ok. Now time for the spoilery discussion part. If you haven’t read this book, go read it, come back and we can discuss everything that happened! 🙂

I want to start by talking about the characters. So I know that like everyone loves Will, but as of right now I don’t really like him. I’m sure as I continue to read this trilogy and I find out more about him that I’ll like him more, but in this book, he really frustrated me. He was just so closed off from everyone, and he’s mean to Tessa. Anytime I thought Tessa and Will were gonna have a super cute moment Will just had to go and be cruel and ruin it. I am still WILLing (pun intended) to give him a chance though, because he’s related to Jace from TMI and we all love him. Haha. Now let’s talk about Jem. I absolutely love Jem. He was definitely my second favorite character (behind Tessa). He’s so nice and I love his relationship with Tessa. I’m not sure where it’s gonna go though. Like are they going to be together or just really good friends? Idk yet, please don’t spoil me. Lol. It does make me really sad though that he has that addiction to demon poison that’s killing him slowly. I know there has to be more to Jem’s character though. But between the two guys, Will and Jem, I honestly don’t know who I ship Tessa with. I just need to read the next book to figure that all out.

So then the whole plot happened. It took me a while to really get into this book, but once I did, I couldn’t stop. I was blown away by all the plot twists too. I couldn’t believe the thing that happened with Nate. That made me so mad. I trusted him! And poor Tessa, she did everything for him. What a selfish little twerp! I was really surprised when we also found out that the Magister wasn’t de Quincey, but Mortmain, or whatever his name was. There are still a lot of things I don’t have answers to, but I’m sure all my questions will be answered by the end of the trilogy.

Like I said earlier, overall I really enjoyed this book, and I’m super excited to continue on with these characters and their story.

5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

