Clockwork Prince

616NNVHj-hL.jpg

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare. Ok. Wow. This book was incredible.

Summary from Goodreads: In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street—and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.

With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move—and that one of their own has betrayed them.

Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, but her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will—the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?

As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.

My opinion: I have so many thoughts on this book, I don’t even know where to start. How about we start with my overall opinions. First, this book was better than the first book, that’s for sure. The the first book was amazing, but this book was just so amazing I don’t even have words for it. One of things that I absolutely loved about this book was the fact that it was hilarious. I really loved liked the “comic relief” cause this was one serious book. Will was so witty and it cracked me up. I just really appreciated that Cassandra Clare added the humor in to lighten it up a little. It was the perfect balance. I also want to mention that I don’t think I’ve ever read such a book with a love triangle like the one in this book. It’s causing so much conflict for me, but I honestly love it.

So…. let’s get into the spoiler-y part. Come back and discuss with me after you’ve read this book!

Let’s first talk about why I had so much conflict while reading this book. I left the first book thinking that by the end of this book that I would definitely know who I wanted Tess to end up with, but nope. I still have no idea who I want her with, and it’s driving me crazy. Let’s talk about the options lol. I love Will. In the first book I didn’t like him cause he was so cold and closed off, but now we finally know why, and I feel so bad for him. My heart literally broke for the guy. He purposely had to make everyone hat him because he had this  “curse”: anyone who ever loved him would die. Turns out though, that it was all just a lie and a trick. And it made me so sad, if Will had just know it was all a lie, it would’ve changed everything. He has such strong, beautiful feelings for Tessa. He loves her so much, but then there’s Jem. I also love Jem. I still fell so bad for Jem because of his illness. And he also loves Tessa so much, and I really do love their relationship, but it really shocked me that he proposed. Didn’t see that one coming. At all. *shocked face emoji* And honestly, I think it was too soon. Tessa didn’t really have time to sort out her feelings. I mean, if she has to continually remind herself that she loves Jem, than it can’t be real love. I just don’t think that’s going to work out, and I think if Tessa would’ve just waited to sort out her feelings things might’ve worked out better, cause now she’s in a really deep hole and I have no idea how she’s going to get out of it. I’m actually surprised by Jem’s actions. I thought he was the kind of guy who would realize he’s dying, and would stay away from Tessa so that her heart doesn’t get broken. It just kind of seemed a little selfish of him to do that. I don’t really know how to feel though. I just feel so bad for both guys. If Tessa ends up with Jem, she breaks Will’s heart. If she ends up with Will, she breaks Jem’s heart. And I don’t want Will and Jem to ruin their “parabati” bond either. I want all of them to remain friends. So idk how this is gonna work out, but I do hope it does.

So let’s talk about Jessamine and Nate now. Jessamine annoyed me in the first book, but I never ever expected her to go as far as to betray everyone who ever cared about her. I felt so bad for Charlotte. And the fact that Jessamine believed Nate really did love her, it kind of made me fell bad for her honestly. I am glad that Nate’s out the picture though, however, I am still really curious about Tessa’s background and all the things that Nate’s down.

Then there’s the new cook, Bridget. Random side note, but I think something’s up with her. I don’t quite trust her.  Something definitely’s gotta happen with her, and I’m excited to see what it might be.

I also love the whole Gideon and Sophie relationship. I really do hope they work it out so that the relationship can actually blossom.

Ok, can we please talk about how cute Charlotte and Henry are?! Ahhhh, I just love both of them so much. The scene where they both realize they’ve been thinking the wrong things about each other all along made me so happy. And Charlotte’s pregnant! Yeahhhhh!!!!! I’m also really happy that we found out Charlotte’s a Fairchild. She’s related to Clary! How cool was that?

Oh! Then at the very end of the story Cecily, Will’s sister sows up. Didn’t see that one coming either. I’m super excited see what role she’s gonna play in the next book.

Speaking of which, so excited (and scared) for Clockwork Princess. A lot of people say that it’s the best one in the trilogy. I don’t know how you could beat this book, but I’m excited anyway. I’m sad this trilogy came to an end so soon. 😦

5 out of 5 stars

 

One thought on “Clockwork Prince

Leave a Reply

