Clockwork Princess

CLOCKWORKPRINCESSCOVERSPECIAL2-265x400.jpg

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare is the third and final book in The Infernal Devices Trilogy. Oh my gosh. This book was incredibly fantastic. Like wow. OMG. wow. As you can see it has left me speechless.

Summary from Goodreads: THE INFERNAL DEVICES WILL NEVER STOP COMING

A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, to destroy the Shadowhunters. He needs only one last item to complete his plan: he needs Tessa Gray.

Charlotte Branwell, head of the London Institute, is desperate to find Mortmain before he strikes. But when Mortmain abducts Tessa, the boys who lay equal claim to her heart, Jem and Will, will do anything to save her. For though Tessa and Jem are now engaged, Will is as much in love with her as ever.

As those who love Tessa rally to rescue her from Mortmain’s clutches, Tessa realizes that the only person who can save her is herself. But can a single girl, even one who can command the power of angels, face down an entire army?

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment, and the tangled threads of love and loss intertwine as the Shadowhunters are pushed to the very brink of destruction in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.

My Opinion: I really don’t have much to say for my non-spoiler part of this review, cause literally anything I say could spoil it. All you need to know is that this is definitely one of the best books I’ve ever read. It was exciting, funny, sad, frustrating, sad, heart-breaking, and sad. (If you didn’t know, this book was sad. Lol.) I highly recommend it though. You will love it.

Ok let’s talk about all the spoilers now. If you haven’t read Clockwork Princess, go read it and come back. Let’s discuss!

I want to start out with all the side stuff and then get into the main character things.

So let’s start with Cecily. We didn’t really know much about Cecily until this book, and can I just say I freaking loved her. She was such a fun and amazing character. And I love the fact that she ends up being related to Isabelle in TMI, cause I can see the family resemblance. But does that mean Isabelle, Jace, and Alec are actually related, cause Cecily and Will are related? I don’t know, but Cecily is awesome.

I also loved Charlotte in this book. I loved how she totally put men in their place by showing them she was fit to run the Institute. She’s such a cool woman, she’s like a role model, and I’m glad Clary’s related to her.

Shall we talk about Henry now. Poor Henry. I absolutely love Henry. He is so cute, and it just broke my heart that he was paralyzed from the waist down. I did think he was going to die though, so I’m glad that didn’t happen. I also thought it was so cool how Henry created the Portal, and I loved how encouraging of Henry Magnus was. That made me so happy.

I also came to really like Magnus so much more by the end of this trilogy. I didn’t really like him before, but now I love him, and I’m excited to read the Bane Chronicles, cause I’m pretty sure he’s in that a lot.

Ok, can we talk about how cute Sophie and Gideon were?  I thought it was so cute how he was hiding scones under his bed just so he could see her. And it was so funny when Gideon accidentally announced his plans to marry Sophie in front of everyone before he even talked to Sophie about it. It was cool how Sophie Ascended though, she really deserved that, and I’m glad she got a happy ending.

Another cute relationship was Cecily and Gabriel. Loved their relationship so much. Especially because it brought Will and Gabriel to be friends instead of enemies. I loved that after Cecily and Gabriel kissed for the first time, she rated it a five like what he did to her when they trained. So cute. I applaud you for that one, Cassandra.

I was a little disappointed we didn’t get more of Bridget, the cook. I really thought there was more to her, but I did love that she could fight for herself. I would like to know more about her though.

Ok now let’s get into Tessa, Will, and Jem.

I’m so happy we finally found out what Tessa is, it was so satisfying. But now I’m really curious to see if her power passed down to her kids and grandkids? Maybe Jace has this ability?

Ok let’s talk about everything that happened with Jem. I was a little frustrated with Jem at parts in this book because I thought he was being selfish. Like I couldn’t believe it when he threw that little packet of yin fen into the fire, and Will put his hands into the fire to save it. I was really sad when Jem “died” because I felt so bad for Will. That scene where Will felt his parabati bond break broke my heart. Jem was all Will had for the longest time. But then when we found out Jem wasn’t actually dead?! What the actual heck?! I honestly believed Jem had died. I was so sure he was going to die from book one. So when we see that he actually became a Silent Brother, I was so blown away. I don’t think I’ve ever been so shocked by a plot twist. Like I could not stop staring at the wall. (Except maybe Red Queen, that one hurt too) I couldn’t believe it though, but it still broke my heart at the same time. It was really sad how Jem had to break his bonds with everyone. But I really loved how Jem and Tessa agreed to meet once a year for an hour. That was sweet. One thing that I loved so much was how understanding Jem was of Tess and Will’s relationship. I honestly thought there was gonna be a big fight and everyone was going to be mad at each other, but nope. And I love Jem so much because he basically encouraged Will to love Tessa. That just brought tears to my eyes.

Now let’s talk about the Epilogue. *starts crying again* Oh God, I cried so hard. I thought I was gonna make it through the book without crying, and then I hit the epilogue and I was like lol nope, here come the tears. It was so sad, yet so happy. I thought it was cool how we saw Tessa in modern day London though, but so sad when she started talking about her life with Will and his death. It was just so bittersweet, and by this point my heart just couldn’t take it, I was sobbing like a baby. And then OMG, leave it to Cassandra to throw a plot twist into the story in the epilogue. Jem was cured! I was blown away. I couldn’t believe it. So Tessa ended getting to be with both Will and Jem, and that just made me so unbelievably happy. This was such a beautiful finale, yet I’m so sad it’s over. *sigh* so beautiful…

5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

