City of Heavenly Fire

ce1ymzew0aee8md-267x400.jpg

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare is the sixth and final book in The Mortal Instruments series.

Summary from Goodreads:

In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.

Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…

Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!

My Opinion:

I have so much to say about this fantastic conclusion to this incredible series. Reading this book was so bittersweet. It was such a happy ending (sort of), but I’m sad to leave this series. I love all these characters so much.

There’s not much to say without spoiling, so let’s discuss. If you haven’t read City of Heavenly Fire…BYE! Come back after you’ve read it. 🙂

So we start this book with a pretty long prologue about Emma Carstairs. I loved reading about her and Jules, and I’m excited to read more in Lady Midnight. I love the Blackthorns, but I know that the whole thing with the parabati rune is gonna cause problems in The Dark Artifices trilogy.

I’d like to take a minute to also appreciate Simon and Isabelle in this book. I love them so much. It cracked me up every time Alec walked in on one of their “moments.” I felt so bad for Izzy when Simon lost his memory though.

I loved Clary’s relationship with Emma, too. I thought it was really funny how Emma was like a Jace fangirl…me too, Emma, me too. 😉

Ok, I just want to say that I was so sad that Jordan died. I loved him so much, and I was mad at Maia for wanting to break up with him. I really wanted them together. And I know this is kind 0f an unpopular opinion, but I just don’t like Maia anymore. I respect her, and I can see how Cassie Clare was leading the readers towards Maia and Bat being together. And I like Bat, I just really wanted Jordan to be happy with Maia.

Ew, ew, ew, I was so grossed out by the  Seelie Queen and Sebastian’s relationship. Gross.

Also, Mareen’s obsession with Simon. It was kind of funny, but also really creepy.

Omg, the Infernal Devices stuff in this book just made my life. I loved that we got to see how Brother Zachariah was turned back from being a Silent Brother. And the scene with Tessa and Clary was so sweet, and it all just made me so happy.

The part where Simon drank that blood with alcohol in it cracked me up. Drunk Simon was hilarious, yelling at Izzy to “let down her raven black hair.” It made me laugh out loud.

I really loved the part when we got to see Alec, Izzy, Simon, and Clary’s visions of their “hearts deepest wish.” I found that really interesting.

I also loved the scenes with Luke, Raphael, and Magnus. Those three were interesting around each other I liked reading about their interactions and the way their pasts mixed together.

When Sebastian offered Clary that throne I was really scared when she took it. And then she wouldn’t say anything, and all I wanted her to do was explain herself to her friends and family, but Magnus had to do it for her.

I kind of surprised myself, but I really really liked the Jonathan redemption scene after Clary stabbed Sebastian. I thought that was so beautiful and I was shocked by it. It really made me tear up.

So after all the Endarkened were killed (which was super sad) the group had to find a way out, so they called on Magnus’ father. I was really scared for my OTP Malec at this point. I honestly thought they were done fore. Then, instead of making it better, Cassie just made it 10 times sadder by having Simon volunteer to give up his immortality instead. I though it’d be ok, but then of course the demon wanted Simon’s memories of the Shadow world! This was the point where I lost it. I was crying so hard. I’ve always had a soft spot for Simon. I was sobbing for the loss of Simon, but also for Clary and Izzy and how hard that must’ve been for them. I honestly couldn’t even imagine having that happen to me or anyone I loved.

But! It turns out to be ok, cause 6, SIX, months later, Clary goes to Simon and he gives her a band flyer and his band is called, “The Mortal Instruments” and I was blown away. I couldn’t believe it! Then Magnus made Simon a shadow hunter and I was sobbing happy tears. I was so so happy. I just could not believe it. My Simon was going to be ok, and everyone got their happy ending.

I’m happy we finally got to see some of Jocelyn and Luke’s wedding. I was looking forward to that.

One thing I don’t understand, we never figured out whose wings Sebastian cut off? And what happened to the Seelie Queen? I have some questions Cassandra, and I need some answers! lol

Overall, this was such a fantastic series. I wish I would’ve read it sooner. I can’t decide if I liked this book or City of Glass better, and I’m not sure if I liked TMI or TID better? Ugh, all of Cassandra’s books are so good. It’s impossible to choose.

5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

