Rebel Belle

8475505.jpg

Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins.

Summary from Goodreads: Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him—and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y’all beg for more.

My Opinion: First of all, this book was so funny and so epic. It was awesome from the start, and there were no slow spots. I don’t have much to say about this book without going into the spoilers, so just know that this book is such a fun book, and it’s perfect if you need a book to lighten your mood or get you out of a slump.

So let’s discuss, if you haven’t read this, you should leave, go read it, and come back to discuss! 🙂

So I want to start by saying that I loved David. I loved him from the start, and I thought his relationship with Harper was hilarious. I also surprisingly liked Ryan. Usually I hate the “current boyfriend who’s in the way of the main character being with who everyone wants them to be with,” (you guys know what I’m talking about lol), but in this book I actually felt kind of bad for Ryan, and he was a nice guy. This book was so funny when Harper discovered her “super powers” and was testing them out. Such a funny book. Also, all of Harper’s excuses were hilarious.

I loved that Harper was scared about dying not for selfish reasons, but because she didn’t want to do that to her parents. That touched my heart.

I loved Bee too, she was such a good best friend, and I’m sad she was kidnapped by Blythe.

I was also so shocked about Ryan being the new Mage thing. I’m ready to laugh at all the awkwardness that’s gonna create.

I’m sad Saylor died though, I feel like they really needed her for parental guidance in everything they’re doing.

I also kind of wish David and Harper had taken things with their relationship a little slower. They just seemed too much like friends when they had that kiss. Idk, that could just be my opinion though.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. And originally I didn’t think I wanted to read the sequel, but after finishing this book I definitely will. I’m excited to see where this trilogy goes.

5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

