You Are Here

23522312.jpg

You Are Here by Jennifer E. Smith.

Summary from Goodreads:

Emma Healy has grown used to being the only ordinary one in her rather extraordinary family. But when she finds a birth certificate for a twin brother she never knew she had, along with a death certificate dated just two days later, she realizes why she never felt quite whole. She sets off on a trip to visit her brother’s grave. Peter Finnegan, her neighbor, comes along for the ride. Emma thinks they can’t possibly have anything in common, but with each passing mile, they find themselves learning more and more about themselves and each other.

My Opinion:

This was very different from Jennifer E. Smith’s other romances. Her other stories are focused on the romance more, and more of the story takes place during the romance part. This book centered more on the characters and their stories and how they fell in love, not what it was like after they did. At first I didn’t think I’d like that, but after I started reading this book it just felt like that way fit this story better. It would’ve felt way too rushed and awkward if they’d fallen in love right away. Jennifer E. Smith has yet to write a love story that I haven’t loved and adored, so if you haven’t picked up any of her books, you should do so now.

So now I’m going to start discussing the story and characters, so if you don’t want to be spoiled go read this book and come back! 🙂

So I want to start with talking about Peter and Emma. I loved Peter and all his awkwardness and I loved Emma and all her confidence. Their personalities didn’t seem like they’d fit, but they both changed and it seemed like they did fit and I loved that. I loved the dog they picked up too. He was the only thing they agreed about for a while. I’m sad that they never ended up giving him a name though. :/

I also loved that both Peter and Emma lost someone who would’ve loved them for who they were. They were able to bond over it, and I thought that was beautiful.

Surprisingly I cried when I read this book. I was really surprised that I did, but when Emma’s mom was telling Emma about Thomas I lost it. And then again when Peter called his dad and he opened up about Peter’s mom. It was so bittersweet and beautiful.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It did have a little bit of a slow start, but I didn’t care, the end made up for it, and looking back, the slowness of introducing the characters was necessary so that the story could have the effect on me that it did.

5 out of 5 stars

 

Leave a Reply

