Lady Midnight

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1)

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Summary from Goodreads:

In a kingdom by the sea…

In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.
A parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other—but they can never fall in love.
Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them.
Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents—and can she bear to know the truth?

My Opinions:

Alright, there’s a lot to say, and it’s gonna be all over the place…just warning you. Lol.

First I want to say that this was, in my opinion, Cassandra’s best first book in a series. I also want to mention that it was really nice to go into this book without having to explain the world.  We were reading from the POV of someone who already had connections in the Shadowhunter world, and that was really refreshing.

Turns out you’re supposed to read Tales form the Shadowhunter Academy before this, and I didn’t and I wish I would’ve cause there’s something that happens in this book that I guess is more exciting and surprising if you’ve read the Shadowhunter Academy book first. But oh well…

So now I’m going to dive into the discussion part of this review, so if you haven’t read this book, I recommend reading it before you read this review or you will be spoiled.

Let’s talk about Kit first. I really like him, and I’m excited he’s gonna be in the next book. I especially like him since he’s a Herondale. Christopher Jonathan Herondale is his name. Lol. I see what you did there Cassie. I also can kind of see that he might have some sort of relationship with Ty, which I’m excited about.

This book was so freaking funny. Emma is a hilarious protagonist, and I really appreciated that.

I just want to put it out there that I didn’t like Kieran and Mark together. I wanted Mark with Cristina. Mark is bisexual, so it’s possible, but Cristina’s with Diego, and Mark and Emma are gonna pretend to be in a relationship, but then Mark was all like, “Why lie?” Ugh, ew, no. I honestly don’t really like Mark, but he may grow on me. We’ll have to see.

I also don’t like Diego. I just don’t trust him, and like I said, I still kind of want Mark and Cristina together.

I love Julian so much. I really love his character and personality. I’m scared though. I’m afraid he’s gonna make a bad decision. I mean he did that thing to that Nightshade vampire which I still don’t quite understand. I think he like framed the vampire so that Arthur wouldn’t get caught for being crazy? Idk, if you understood this part, please explain it to me in the comments.

I’m still so sad about Emma breaking Julian’s heart. And the fact that Tessa told her to do  it broke me. I mean Will had to do that to Tessa, and it was for her own good, but it was still so sad. I admire Emma for doing what she did, BUT WHY COULDN’T SHE JUST TELL JULIAN WHY?! Ugh, come on Emma. And I hate that she’s gonna pretend to love Mark. That’s just gonna ruin Mark’s relationship with Julian. EMMA GOSH DARN YOU!

AND GOSH DARN THIS STUPID PARABATI THING! The parabati love thing is really intense. I’m interested to see how they get around that.

So Malcom. MALCOLM. Omg, what? I trusted him! I thought he was gonna be our Magnus! The thing I loved though, and Cassie does such a good job with this, is that I totally understand where he was coming from and why he did what he did.

I’m still confused about Diana. What’s up with her? I just don’t trust her.

Omg, I could not believe that Annabel was alive! Ahhhhhhhhhh, that’s just bad. I’m scared.

I really want to see more Jem and Emma. I want them to have a good relationship, so I hope Jem’s in the next book more.

It really frustrated me how throughout the whole book Julian and Emma danced around the truth about their feelings. LIKE FOR GOD’S SAKE JUST TELL EACH OTHER HOW YOU REALLY FEEL! Gosh.

I really hated the lashes scene. Like just make Mark take the lashes! You’re Shadowhunters, you’ll heal! It was still really sad though.

I’m also convinced Malcolm’s not dead. He’s definitely alive. He’s a warlock, he probably could just heal himself.

Omg, I am so happy that Simon and Izzy are getting  married. And that Simon and Clary are parabati. #feels

What’s up with Cameron? I kind of think he’s gonna come back into play later.

I love Cristina. She’s so Izzy-like.

I’m also really curious about Ty. I want to know more about him.

I also love that Church the cat was in this. That cat’s been everywhere.

I was mad at Jules earlier in the book when he told Emma he wished they hadn’t become parabati. I mean I know why he said it, but I still kind of wish they could undo the parabati thing and then Emma could be Cristina’s parabati.

I just have to write this quote down cause I never want to forget it: “Because I’m an artist, Emma. These pictures are my heart. And if my heart was a canvas, every square inch of it would be painted over with you.” -Julian

Ok, and one thing I have to mention. I don’t know if you guys read it, but you should if you didn’t. It was an extra scene at the end of the book about Clary and the gang. It was called the Long Conversation, I think. Anyway, I was really enjoying it, and then Jace proposed, and I was so excited…until Clary thought this:

“Marry me, Clary.

When they returned, she would have to give him her answer. She dreaded it.”

SHE DREADED IT?!?!??!?!?!?! CLARY FREAKING FAIRCHILD I SWEAR TO GOD IF YOU TELL JACE HERONDALE “NO” I WILL HURT YOU. WHO WOULD NOT WANT TO MARRY JACE FREAKING HERONDALE. CLARY YOU BETTER GET YOURSELF CHECKED OUT CAUSE YOU NEED HELP.

Phew, sorry. Had to get that off my chest. But I’m honestly so scared, like why Clary? Whyyyyyyyyyyy?

This book was really good though, and I loved it so much. The next one can’t come soon enough.

 

Leave a Reply

