Throne of Glass

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Summary from Goodreads:

“Nothing is a coincidence. Everything has a purpose. You were meant to come to this castle, just as you were meant to be an assassin.”

When magic has gone from the world, and a vicious king rules from his throne of glass, an assassin comes to the castle. She does not come to kill, but to win her freedom. If she can defeat twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition to find the greatest assassin in the land, she will become the King’s Champion and be released from prison.

Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her.

And a princess from a foreign land will become the one thing Celaena never thought she’d have again: a friend.

But something evil dwells in the castle—and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying, horribly, one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival—and a desperate quest to root out the source of the evil before it destroys her world.

My Opinion:

First, I loved this book so much. The story, the characters, everything was fantastic.

I loved Celaena too, she’s so cool and such a good representation of women who can stand up for themselves.

I don’t have much to say without spoiling, so byeeee if you haven’t read this book yet. Come back to discuss after you’ve read this.

I’m basically just going to be spouting off random thoughts I had, so feel free to comment about any of them!

I want to start by saying that I do like Dorian, and I think he’s really nice to Celaena, but I just don’t ship them. Something about their relationship just bothered me.

I ship Celaena with Chaol. Their relationship is so sweet. I love that Chaol pushes Celaena to be the best she can be. He believes in her and I ship them for that reason.

I also liked Nox, and I hope he comes back into play later.

I was suspicious of Nehemiah at first, but I really like her friendship with Celaena now that I know she’s not evil. Lol.

At first I did think the murderer was Cain, but I was like, “No, that’s too obvious.” So I was a little disappointed when he actually ended up being the murderer. I was expecting a plot twist, but oh well…

I really loved reading about the tasks that Celaena had to do. Usually I don’t like reading about those kinds of things, but I liked it a lot in this book.

I was glad Celaena ended it with Dorian in the end, but now I’m afraid that means they’ll get back together.

The final duel with Cain was a little frustrating. I was hoping Celaena would just straight up kick Cain’s butt, lol. And it was also a little long.

I really loved that Chaol ended up being the one to kill Cain to save Celaena. Dorian was just sitting there and wasn’t doing anything to stop Cain, so Chaol stepped in and I loved him for that.

Overall, I really liked this book, and I’m so excited for the rest of the series.

 

Leave a Reply

