Nemesis

27414431.jpg

Nemesis by Anna Banks.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Summary from Goodreads: Princess Sepora of Serubel is the last Forger in all the five kingdoms. The spectorium she creates provides energy for all, but now her father has found a way to weaponize it, and his intentions to incite war force her to flee from his grasp. She escapes across enemy lines into the kingdom of Theoria, but her plans to hide are thwarted when she is captured and placed in the young king’s servitude.

Tarik has just taken over rulership of Theoria, and must now face a new plague sweeping through his kingdom and killing his citizens. The last thing he needs is a troublesome servant vying for his attention. But mistress Sepora will not be ignored. When the two finally meet face-to-face, they form an unlikely bond that complicates life in ways neither of them could have imagined.

Sepora’s gift could save Tarik’s kingdom from the Quiet Plague. But should she trust her growing feelings for her nemesis, or should she hide her gifts at all costs?

My Opinion: (NO SPOILERS YET)

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I loved the whole idea of this world, and I thought it was really cool. I’ve honestly never read anything like this, and I liked that because it’s really hard to read a fantasy book that’s not like some other book. The only “negative” comment I have about this is that there were some decisions that the main characters made that just annoyed me, but I managed to forgive them. Haha.

Now I know a lot of people haven’t read this book yet, because it doesn’t come out utill October, but I received an ARC. I’m gonna post my spoiler part of this review anyway in case someone else out there has read an ARC too. And then after the book comes out all of you can come back and read this part. 🙂

SPOILER SECTION!!!! DO NOT CONTINUE READING IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THIS BOOK!

So let me start by saying that I, of course, ship Sepora and Tarik. I honestly did from the first time I was introduced to both their characters. I really liked the relationship that was formed between them.

I really liked Tarik’s character in this book. Like I wish I could personally know him, cause he seems like a fun person. Lol.

I kind of talked about this earlier in my review, but I just wanted to say again how much I enjoyed reading about this world. I loved the whole Spectorium thing, and that Sepora has to make it to keep her energy up. I thought that was such a unique, cool idea.

I was kind of mad at Sepora though throughout this book. I don’t understand why she was so against using her ability to Forge and help people. She could use it to save so many people dying from the Plague, but for some reason she doesn’t want to do that, and that made me mad.

I actually didn’t like the first kiss between Sepora and Tarik. It just felt really rushed. But don’t get me wrong, I totally shipped them at that point, I just needed a longer build up.

There were a couple quotes in this book that I just had to share with you guys, because the writing in this book was beautiful, and there were so many good quotes.

On page 257 (of my book):

Sepora: “Name one thing of which you can appreciate the beauty of without dissecting it into fragments.”

Tarik: “You.”

Sepora: “What?”

Tarik: “You, mistress. I don’t question your beauty or how you came to be in such great supply of it. I  simply allow myself to admire it.”

I thought that was so cute. I loved all the little conversations between Tarik and Sepora.

On page 345 (of my book):

“Because he loves her. Yes, he’s sure of it, as sure as he is that the sun will set over the Bazaar and that the moon will rise in its place. Against his will, he loves her.”

*sigh* that one makes me smile 🙂

I also got mad a couple of times at Tarik towards the end. I don’t really have a specific reason, just some of his choices that he made drove me crazy.

I really liked that at the end Tarik and Sepora were put into an arranged marriage. I think that’ll add a fun twist to the next book. I’m excited to read about how they work it all out.

So those are all my thoughts! Hope you’re as excited as I am for the sequel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

