Heir of Fire

20613470.jpg

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas is the third book in the Throne of Glass series.

Rating: 5/5 stars

Summary from Goodreads: Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

My Opinion: This was such a good book! There is honestly nothing I can really say without spoiling it though. If you’ve read the first two books in this series, you should definitely continue with the series and read this book. And if you haven’t even read the first two books in the Throne of Glass series, you should definitely do that. 🙂

SPOILER SECTION IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THIS BOOK DON’T CONTINUE READING THIS REVIEW.

So I assume you’ve read the book if you’re reading this part. I have a lot to discuss about this book, and most of it is just some random thoughts and opinions I had while reading, so feel free to comment on anything I say in the comments below. I’d love to discuss this awesome book with you guys! Side note: please forgive me for every name I mess up. They’re just all spelled so weird, I can never spell them right. Lol

First, let’s discuss Rowan. At first I hated Rowan so much, but by the end I totally loved him. I definitely ship him and Celaena. They’re totally my new OTP. I’m really hoping Rowan and Celaena turn out to be mates. That would be so perfect. And, I loved all those little moments in the beginning when you could see Rowan was trying not to care for Celaena, but he totally did. I really wanted Rowan and Celaena to confess their feelings for each other in this book. I’m just gonna hope that it’s in the next book. *fingers crossed* I was also mad that Celaena left Rowan behind when she left for Adarlan. Last time she left her lover (Chaol) behind, she forgot about him and fell in love with someone else (Rowan). I don’t think my heart could take another ship change. I literally tried so hard to stay Team Chaol, but I just couldn’t do it. I loved Rowan too much by the end of this book. I still really like Chaol though, don’t get me wrong, I just don’t think he’s right for Celaena anymore.

So then we were introduced to Manon in this book. At first I did not like her, but as her story went on I really grew to like her. I really want to know more about her and her backstory. I’m really hoping she and Celaena can be friends. Celaena really needs a girl friend. I really loved Abraxos, (or whatever her wyverns’ name was) I thought their story was awesome. I also loved when Manon and Abraxos saved Petrah, although I was really sad Keelie died. And then there was that scene where Manon got some spider silk for Abraxos and it was literally Annabeth and Arachne in Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan all over again.

There were a lot of new characters in this book and at times it was really hard to keep track of them all. Lol, I need to start keeping lists of characters when I read Sarah’s books.

I also hated Aedion at first, but I grew to really like him. I loved the friendship that formed between him and Chaol. I’m also really excited to see Aedion and Celaena’s reunion. They’ll have a fun-to-read about friendships reunion, I’m sure.

I loved reading and learning about Celaena’s backstory. It was so interesting, but also really sad.

So I was really excited about Sorscha because I though Dorian had finally found a permanent relationship. But nope…of course she had to be beheaded. Thanks Sarah. I feel really bad for Dorian for having to watch that happen. I really loved when Dorian saved Chaol with his magic though. I want them to be friends again. I’m really interested to see what happens now that Dorian is under the king’s control.

I loved when Celaena totally kicked Maeve’s (I think that was her aunt’s name) butt. She really showed her who was boss.

I’m also excited to see this “reunion” between Celaena and her trainer/rescuer guy from when she was training to be an assassin. I think it will be really intense and interesting.

Overall, this book was so good. I’m really excited to see where the last three books go.

 

Leave a Reply

