Queen of Shadows

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass, #4)

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. The 4th book in the Throne of Glass series.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Summary from Goodreads: Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

Non-Spoiler Opinion: So this book was soooo good. I mean what else would you expect from Sarah J. Maas? Lol. The plot, the characters, and just the whole book together blew me away. Sarah’s books just keep getting better and better. Since this is the fourth book in a series, it’s hard to say anything without spoiling, so let’s jump right into the discussion part of this review!

If you haven’t read this book, you should probably leave and come back after you read it, unless you enjoy being spoiled. Lol.

Spoiler Part: So let’s start with Chaol! Chaol’s character hurt in this book. I’m not gonna lie, it really did. I’m wounded, but still alive. It just made me so sad when he fighting with Aelin. Like they used to love each other, and they just despised each other in the beginning of this book, and it broke me.  I am happy that it looks like Chaol is gonna end up with Nesryn, and I’m really sad that he was paralyzed. I’m just happy he’s not dead.

Omg, I LOVE ROWAN SO MUCH! His character in this book was just my favorite. I’m so happy Rowan and Aelin are finally accepting their feeling for each other. I absolutely adored the scene when Aelin was playing the piano and Rowan started crying, and the other scene when Rowan goes with Aelin to visit Sam’s grave.

Arobynn in this book just freaked me out. He was so creepy. I literally screamed at the part when Arobynn put that ring on Aelin and we all thought she was gonna be controlled by him. I was so relieved when I turned the page and it turned out that it was all part of Aelin’s plan. I can’t even imagine what would’ve happened if she had actually been under Arobynn’s control. *shivers* I’m also surprised Arobrynn died. I thought Sarah J. Maas would keep him around longer.

The prison break to save Aedion was so awesome. I absolutely loved that whole scene and the way Sarah just put the whole plan together. Aedion is definitely one of my favorite characters.

Manon’s character development was fantastic from Heir of Fire to Queen of Shadows. The Manon vs. Aelin fight was so awesome, too. Supposedly there’s a hinted romance between Manon and Dorian? I didn’t catch that when I was reading at first, but I could see it possibly happening, I’m just not sure how I feel about it.

Oh my, that part when Asterin was telling Manon her story of how she fell in love and gave birth to a stillborn broke my heart. It was such a sad story.

I’m really glad that Lysandra and Aelin form a friendhsip in this book. I really wanted Aelin to find a friend after what happened with Nehemia *tears*, and I’m glad it was Lysandra. It really touched my heart when Lysandra’s debts got paid off. That was so sweet. I’m also kind of shipping Lysandra and Aedion. I think they could be a couple.

I’m also sad that apparently Aelin is not immortal. This is a problem, because I want her and Rowan to be together. I’m hoping they fix it. *fingers crossed*

I was also happy the king finally was killed, although I’m sad Dorian was the one to do it. And, I’m glad magic is finally unlocked.

I’m really excited to see where the next book goes with this story. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

