Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Hammer of Thor

27904311.jpg

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Summary from Goodreads:

Thor’s hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon–the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn’t just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can’t retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer’s return is the gods’ worst enemy, Loki–and the price he wants is very high.
My Opinion (spoiler free):
If I’m going to be completely honest, this was not my favorite Rick Riordan book. It was good, but I felt like it was not near as good as some of Rick’s other work. I think my main problem with the book was the plot. At times I was finding myself bored with what was going on, and wanting to move on to the next part of the book. Usually with Rick’s books, I enjoy every second. So that was a little sad.
I really did like the characters though. I love how diverse the cast of characters is in this book. I really like Magnus’ character, and I love all the side characters.
I also really like where this series is going. I’m really really excited for the last book. I hope it’s really good. I have faith that Rick will make it a fantastic conclusion to this fantastic trilogy.
Overall, this isn’t my favorite Rick Riordan series, but it’s good, and I enjoy reading it.
I don’t have a whole lot to say about this book, so I just recommend you go read the series and see for yourself what an incredible author Rick Riordan is. 🙂
Leave a Reply

