Silenced in the Surf

Silenced in the Surf (Pacific Northwest #3)Silenced in the Surf by Kate Dyer-Seeley

Publisher: Kensington Publishing

# of Pages: 323

Genre: Mystery

Overall Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Is this a series?

Yes, it’s the third book in a series.

Do I recommend this book?

Not really, I would recommend the first book in the series, but that’s it.

Ratings (out of 10)

Quality: 6

Pace: 8

Plot development: 7

Characters: 6

Enjoyability: 6

Ease of Reading: 10

Summary from Goodreads:

Covering a windsurfing competition should have been a breeze for reporter Meg Reed, but with a killer in the curl, she’s headed for rough waters…
 
Hood River in the Columbia River Gorge is the windsurfing capital of the world, and Meg is stoked to cover the King of the Hook event for Portland’s Northwest Extreme magazine. Before the competition gets under way, Meg has a chance to try some windsurfing on her own. But when the current sweeps her downriver, she spots a body snagged on the rocks. The dead man is Justin Cruise, aka Cruise Control, a celebrity windsurfer and not exactly a nice guy. It’s soon clear his death was no accident, and Cruise had no shortage of enemies. As Meg dives right in to discover who wiped out the windsurfer, she’ll need to keep her balance—or she too may get blown away.

My Opinions (SPOILER FREE):

I’m really sorry to say this, but this series just keeps getting worse as I continue. In my opinion, mysteries don’t make very good series. I mean what are the chances that the same person stumbles upon three murders on accident? I think the author should have left it at one book.

I don’t like  Meg anymore either. She just drives me crazy now. She’s no naive, and it’s become rather annoying, honestly. And Matt, the guy who used to be my favorite character, has also gotten really annoying.

I also did not like the plot of this book. It was confusing, and there was no real conclusion to it. There were so many things left unsolved, and that drove me crazy.

The romance between Matt and Meg in this book was also extremely irritating and frustrating. I mean it’s been three books and nothing’s really happened between the two of them. I was really rooting for them in the beginning, but now I’ve become bored with their relationship.

I contemplated on whether or not I wanted to be honest for this review, but I decided honesty is the best policy. I feel bad for having to write this about this book. Heck, I’d feel bad writing this about any book, but this story just didn’t click with me. In all honesty, I wish it had. I don’t like reading bad books, and I’m sure you guys don’t either. But I just have to be honest with you guys. By all means, if you read this book and enjoyed it, that’s completely okay with me. We are each entitled to our own opinion.

That being said, I am interested to see how this series wraps up in the fourth book, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the last book is good. :/

Leave a Reply

