Before I Fall

6482837.jpg

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

# of Pages: 470

Genre: Contemporary/ a little bit of Magical Realism

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Series? If so, will I continue?

No, not a series.

Recommend? To Whom?

I would only recommend this book to someone planning on seeing the movie, and only because I think you should always read the book before you see the movie. I most likely would not have read this if the movie wasn’t coming out.

Ratings (out of 10):

Quality: 7

Pace: I listened to the audiobook

Plot development: 6

Characters: 7

Enjoyability: 7

Ease of Reading: 9

Summary from Goodreads:

For popular high school senior Samantha Kingston, February 12—”Cupid Day”—should be one big party, a day of valentines and roses and the privileges that come with being at the top of the social pyramid. And it is…until she dies in a terrible accident that night.

However, she still wakes up the next morning. In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined.

My Opinion (SPOILER FREE):

Okay, so this book was honestly not that good, in my opinion.

First of all, it was way too long. I prefer my contemporaries to be shorter, and this one was definitely not a shorter one. It just kept dragging on, and I got pretty tired of the story by the end.

Second, I didn’t really like any of the main characters all that much. It was a little hard to sympathize with Sam sometimes and what was going on.

Third, the ending was terrible. After I finished I was like, “Wait, that’s it? What was the point of this book?” I honestly didn’t understand it.

Don’t get me wrong though, there were certain parts of this story that I enjoyed. I also thought there were some pretty good lessons that could be taken away from the story.

Overall, I only read this because the movie is coming out. I’m honestly thinking the movie might be better, because it won’t be as slow and as long as this book was.

Leave a Reply

