Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour

7664334.jpg

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Number of Pages: 344

Genre: Contemporary/Romance

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Before I continue with the remainder of this review, I would like to thank SocialBookCo for sending me a copy of this book to review. SocialBookCo is an incredible website that helps you find the best price for the book you want. Be sure to check out their website and this book using this link: http://www.socialbookco.com/book/9781416990666/amy-and-rogers-epic-detour?rid=180

Is this a series? If so, will I continue?

No, unfortunately this is not a series, but if it was I definitely would continue.

Do I recommend this book?

Absolutely, I really enjoyed it, and I think anyone who likes to read contemporaries or romances will love it.

Ratings (out of 10):

Quality: 10

Pace: 9

Plot development: 9

Characters: 10

Enjoyability: 10

Ease of Reading: 10

Summary from Goodreads:

Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

My Opinion (SPOILER FREE):

This book was absolutely incredible, there were so many amazing aspects of the story that I just adored.

I want to start by saying that one of the main reasons why I loved this book so much was because it wasn’t like other contemporaries. I’ve never read any other romance or contemporary book like this one, so I really enjoyed the uniqueness of this story.

The characters were also fantastic. The chemistry between Amy and Roger was so good because they started out as strangers, and then slowly that formed into an awkward friendship, and then the rest is history. Both of their characters went through great character development. They were completely different people between the beginning and end of the book. Their stories felt very genuine, and it was easy to connect and relate to both Amy and Roger. I really liked that even though Amy was the one telling the story, we learned a lot about Roger and how he developed as a character, as well. Both of the main characters start this book dealing with different problems, and I think that added really nicely to the story. They were able to help each other, but neither of them judged the other for having problems of their own.

Throughout this book there were also really cool pictures and additions that I think really added nicely to the story. It made the whole book seem much more realistic and relatable. There were also flashback moments that helped the reader understand more about the past and what made the characters the way they were. I wish this book could have been longer because there was so much more I wanted to know about their lives.

The side characters were also written into the story really well. Even though they all only had small parts in the actual book, they each played big roles in the lives of the characters overall throughout the story. I really liked this aspect of the story because sometimes I feel like authors just add side characters to take up space, but each one of the side characters in this story really did have a purpose.

I also enjoyed the fact that this book had a great balance of sad, funny, happy, and stressful moments. Sometimes in a contemporary you only feel either happy or sad, but this contemporary was more like an adventure. I found myself really invested in the story. It was almost like a cute contemporary with the thrill you get when reading a fantasy or action book. It’s unusual for a contemporary to be such a “page-turner”, but it was honestly really difficult to put this book down.

Although I was kind of sad this book was so short, I felt like it worked really well for the themes and messages that Morgan Matson was trying to get across. Morgan Matson truly is a phenomenal writer. All of her books are so unique and fun, and they always make you want to get up and live life. I love reading her stories because they’re happy, but they’re realistic. Not everything always turns out just the way you want it to, and Morgan Matson does an amazing job of portraying this in her story.

I also wanted to just share a few quotes that I felt really show how wonderful of a writer Morgan Matson really is:

“There sometimes isn’t much difference between a knight’s quest and fool’s errand.”

“It’s really not about the destination. It’s about getting there that is the good part.”

“Tomorrow will be better.”  “But what if it’s not?” “Then you say it again tomorrow. Because it might be. You never know right? At some point, tomorrow will be better.”

Again, I highly recommend everyone check out this book, and if you decide you do want to, make sure to check it out through SocialBookCo, using the link I provided above.

Leave a Reply

