Caraval

27883214.jpg

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Genre: Fantasy/Mystery

# of Pages: 407

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Do I recommend this book?

Yes, absolutely, and especially to anyone who enjoys unique, magical stories.

Is this a series? If so, will I continue?

Yes, I believe this is a series, or at least a duology, and I am planning on continuing.

Ratings (out of 10):

Quality: 10

Pace: 8

Plot development: 10

Characters: 9

Enjoyability: 10

Ease of Reading: 10

Summary from Goodreads:

Scarlett Dragna has never left the tiny island where she and her sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval—the faraway, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show—are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt-of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. Nevertheless she becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic. And whether Caraval is real or not, Scarlett must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over or a dangerous domino effect of consequences will be set off, and her beloved sister will disappear forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval…beware of getting swept too far away.

My Opinions (SPOILER FREE):

This was such a fun, magical, and exciting book to read, and I totally understand all the hype surrounding it now. I think the main thing that really made this book great was the world. I got completely swept up in the world of Caraval, and I can’t wait to go back when I read the next book, whenever that comes out.

The writing of this book also completely blew me away. Stephanie Garber has such a fantastical way of writing. It was so easy to picture this world she created, and simply picture myself there right along side the characters.

The characters were also so well written. We learn enough about the characters to the point where we can connect with them, but not so much that this book turns into a story just about the characters. I felt like there was a perfect balance of character driven scenes and plot driven scenes.

The plot really was good. It was paced really well, and I was never bored. And even though sometimes books just seem to fly by too fast, I felt like this one was paced perfectly. It wasn’t a super fast paced read, but the story still kept moving.

I definitely recommend this book. It is nothing like I’ve ever read before, and I think everyone should give it a chance.

 

Leave a Reply

