A Court of Wings and Ruin

23766634.jpg

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Fantasy

# of Pages: 705

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Is this a series? If so, will I continue?

Yes, apparently there are going to be three more books and I will definitely continue.

Do I recommend this book?

ABSOLUTELY, the only thing I have to say is beware of some adult content.

Ratings (out of 10):

Quality: 9

Pace: 7

Plot development: 8

Characters: 9

Enjoyability: 9

Ease of Reading: 8

Summary from Goodreads:

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

My Opinions (SPOILER FREE):

HOLY CRAP THIS BOOK WAS GREAT. *slow clap* very nicely done Sarah J. Maas.

So let me just start with what I loved: Feyre. She has grown into such a powerful, strong character, and I really admired her throughout this entire book. She’s so much different than she was in the very first book.

I really loved the roles that all the different side characters played in this story as well. I love that Sarah J. Maas gives characters other than just Feyre and Rhys important roles.

There were also just so many great scenes throughout this book. Like it’s not like there was gigantic part that was fantastic. I felt like the thing that really made this book good, was all the scenes Sarah J. Maas imbedded within the story that just enhanced the characters and made the story as a whole just so much more enjoyable.

So let’s discuss why this book only got 4 out of 5 stars. The main things that felt kind of off for me with this book had to do with the fact that I thought this book was too “politics-y”. Basically, I just felt like there were too many meetings or discussions of what to do, instead of actual action.

There were also some parts were I got really confused, or felt that things were left unanswered, so that made certain parts less enjoyable.

It was also just really hard to love this book as much as I loved A Court of Mist and Fury. That book just blows all other books out of the water, honestly. So I think because ACOMAF was so fantastic, my expectations were a little too high for this book, and I ended up being disappointed because I felt like this book was just not near as good as ACOMAF.

I honestly don’t really have anything more to say about this book, surprisingly. I did love it though. Don’t be confused by me only giving it 4 stars. I still loved this book so dang much, I just didn’t feel like it deserved the same rating I gave ACOMAF. I’m also really glad that this isn’t gonna be the last book.

Leave a Reply

