The Fill-In Boyfriend

18660447.jpg

The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

Genre: Romance/Contemporary

# of pages: 345

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ratings (out of 10):

Quality: 9

Pace: 10

Plot development: 9

Characters: 9.5

Enjoyability:

Ease of Reading: 10

Do I recommend this book?

ABSO-FREAKING-LUTELY! Especially if you’re looking for a cute romance or summer read!

Summary from Goodreads:

When Gia Montgomery’s boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she’d been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriend—two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley.

The problem is that days after prom, it’s not the real Bradley she’s thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn’t even know. But tracking him down doesn’t mean they’re done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend’s graduation party—three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.

Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn her fake boyfriend into a real one, Bradley comes waltzing back into her life, exposing her lie, and threatening to destroy her friendships and her new-found relationship.

My Opinions (SPOILER FREE):

*content sigh* What an adorable book! The Fill-In Boyfriend is an incredibly cute and fun romance to read. I really enjoyed the plot, the characters, and the writing! This book was definitely a win-win for me. 🙂

I also adored the fact that there are some small, kind of subtle, moral lessons that are slipped into this book. They’re pretty subtle, but they are there, and I really appreciated them.

The romance in this story was of course swoon-worthy. It was very dreamy and made me smile so much my cheeks hurt.

This book was also surprisingly really funny. I even laughed out loud a couple of times while reading it.

The ONLY thing (that’s right there’s only one thing) that I didn’t like about this book was how predictable it was. I basically saw everything coming before it happened. But don’t get me wrong, that didn’t take away from the enjoyment of the book whatsoever. It was still very fun to read even though I did have an idea as to what was going to happen.

Honestly, this book was too short. I just wanted so much more of it cause it was that good.

I highly highly recommend this book. Especially for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Kiera Cass, Jennifer E. Smith, or other romance authors similar to them.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s